Top 15 Albums/Mixtapes of 2015

It has been a pretty great year for hip-hop and R&B fans. Kendrick Lamar delivered yet another classic album. Dr. Dre delivered his final album and it was impressive. Janet Jackson returned with a very cohesive effort. Adele returned from her four-year hiatus to dominate the charts and that's just the beginning. As 2015 comes to an end, it is important to reflect on those projects that made a lasting impression. The following list represents my favorite hip-hop and R&B albums/mixtapes from 2015. Unlike my Top 40 list, I also tried my best to rank these albums based on their merit. I hope you enjoy the list and these projects as much as I did. I'll see you in 2016!

To hear me talk about these projects in detail, check out Episode 18 of my podcast!


1. To Pimp A Butterfly- Kendrick Lamar


2. Ego Death- The Internet


3. Surf- Donnie Trumpet & The Social Experiment


4. 25- Adele


5. Rodeo- Travi$ Scott


6. Summertime '06- Vince Staples


7. Beauty Behind The Madness- The Weeknd


8. You Should Be Here- Kehlani


9. Wildheart- Miguel


10. Tetsuo & Youth- Lupe Fiasco


11. Dark Sky Paradise- Big Sean


12. If You're Reading This It's Too Late- Drake


13. DS2- Future


14. The Album About Nothing- Wale


15. Compton- Dr. Dre


Honorable Mentions:


Unbreakable- Janet Jackson

T R A P S O U L- Bryson Tiller

But You Caint Use My Phone- Erykah Badu

SremmLife- Rae Sremmurd

What A Time To Be Alive- Drake & Future





Chance The Rapper- "Somewhere In Paradise (feat. Jeremih & R. Kelly)"

After Chance The Rapper's impressive performance on SNL, he has now released the song he performed called "Somewhere In Paradise." He has been performing this song at live shows for a while now, but now we have the official version. The song features Jeremih and R. Kelly and really shows Chance and The Social Experiment at their best. Check out the track above.


Chance The Rapper (SNL Performances)

Chance The Rapper became the first independent artist to perform on Saturday Night Live this past weekend and he absolutely killed it. He started off the performances with "Somewhere In Paradise" and Jeremih joined him on stage. His final performance was his most impressive. He performed a slowed-down version of "Sunday Candy" and it was brilliant. The arrangement was fantastic and the backup from The Social Experiment took it to another level. Chance is such a genuine artist and it shines through on stage. Check out the performances above.


Donnie Trumpet & The Social Experiment Release 'Surf'

Donnie Trumpet & The Social Experiment's highly anticipated project, Surf, is finally here. We first heard of this project months ago when Chance the Rapper announced in an interview that The Social Experiment would release several projects in the near future. Donnie Trumpet's Surf would be the first to drop. The project includes features from Erykah Badu, J. Cole, Jeremih, and more. Check out the tracklist and iTunes download link below. This project is sure to be amazing. Oh, and did I mention it was free? Enjoy.

1. Miracle

2. Slip Slide

3. Warm Enough

4. Nothing Came to Me

5. Wanna Be Cool

6. Windows

7. Caretaker

8. Just Wait

9. Familiar

10. SmthnthtIwnt

11. Go

12. Questions

13. Something Came to Me

14. Rememory

15. Sunday Candy

16. Pass the Vibes

iTunes: Link


Donnie Trumpet & the Social Experiment- "Sunday Candy" (Music Video)

Donnie Trumpet & the Social Experiment have released an amazing video for their song, "Sunday Candy." The visuals feature Chance the Rapper at the forefront with the members of The Social Experiment acting out roles of their own. It's directed by Austin Vesely so you know it's worth a watch. Hopefully their project—Surf— is set to arrive soon. Enjoy.


The Social Experiment Performs "Sunday Candy" at SXSW

The Social Experiment performed at SXSW this year and decided to bless the crowd with a performance of "Sunday Candy." It's a pretty great performance and it's good to see what the band is doing visually during their sets. I can't wait for their next project, Surf. Enjoy.


Donnie Trumpet & The Social Experiment- "Nothing Came To Me" (Snippet & Trailer)

The Social Experiment is prepping the release of their new project, Surf, headed by trumpeter Donnie Trumpet. They have released a trailer for the project featuring model Cara Delevigne with a new song called "Nothing Came To Me" playing in the background. The song is horn-heavy and I can't wait for this project to drop. Check it out above and enjoy.


Check Out Austin Vesely & The Social Experiment's Short Film, "SoX Day"

Austin Vesely is a very talented director; he has directed many projects and videos for a lot of Chicago artists and members of the SAVEMONEY crew. He recently released a short film called "SoX Day," a film he crafted from footage of Chance the Rapper & The Social Experiment as they went on tour. It's a very entertaining and enlightening look into the lives of these artists when they're not on stage. Enjoy.


Donnie Trumpet & The Social Experiment- "Sunday Candy"

Chance the Rapper announced a few weeks ago that he and his band, The Social Experiment, would be releasing a new album called Surf. Surf will be led by trumpeter Nico Segal–aka Donnie Trumpet. Well, Donnie and The Social Experiment have released the first single for the album and it's phenomenal. "Sunday Candy" takes a lot of inspiration from gospel music as it interpolates "It's Gonna Rain," a gospel song that has been covered by many artists, but created by Rev. Milton Brunson and the Thompson Community Singers. The song also features additional vocals from Jamila Woods, Jabari Hayford, Macie Stewart, and Eryn Kane. This song is great and the Social Experiment members are doing wonderful things for music; Surf is going to be amazing. Download "Sunday Candy" above and enjoy.

Also, check out an interview Chance had with Tony Sco & the Morning Riot below.


Chance The Rapper Announces New Project

Chance the Rapper just dropped a bombshell. He announced that he and his band, The Social Experiment, would be releasing multiple projects in the near future. The first project, Surf, is set to release before the end of the year and sees trumpeter Nico Segal (aka Donnie Trumpet) taking the reins. It's Nico's project with backup and influence from The Social Experiment. To hear Chance tell it–via his Billboard interview–each project will showcase members of the band. There's even a project called SOX set to be released. Chance said they've been working with artists like Francis & the Lights, Migos, J. Cole, Frank Ocean and more so these projects are bound to be amazing and certainly unique. He talks more about what they're working on now and even how they're planning on structuring their next tour so check out the full Billboard interview here. To all you Kids These Days fans, jump on the bandwagon quick because I think Chance and The Social Experiment will be the closest we get to them in a while. Enjoy.


Chance the Rapper covered the theme song from Arthur at a concert a month or so ago and now he has released the cover in all its wonderful CDQ glory. It’s called “Wonderful Everyday: Arthur” and it features additional vocals from Wyclef Jean, Francis and the Lights, Jessie Ware, Elle Varner, Eryn Allen Kane & The O’My’s, Donnie Trumpet, and Peter Cottontale. He also had his band, The Social Experiment, back him up on the instrumentation. This is a wonderful music and I love that Chance makes music my generation can really connect to. Enjoy.

Also check out the trailer he released for a possible upcoming music video for his song, “I Am Very Very Lonely.”