Top 15 Albums/Mixtapes of 2015

It has been a pretty great year for hip-hop and R&B fans. Kendrick Lamar delivered yet another classic album. Dr. Dre delivered his final album and it was impressive. Janet Jackson returned with a very cohesive effort. Adele returned from her four-year hiatus to dominate the charts and that's just the beginning. As 2015 comes to an end, it is important to reflect on those projects that made a lasting impression. The following list represents my favorite hip-hop and R&B albums/mixtapes from 2015. Unlike my Top 40 list, I also tried my best to rank these albums based on their merit. I hope you enjoy the list and these projects as much as I did. I'll see you in 2016!

To hear me talk about these projects in detail, check out Episode 18 of my podcast!


1. To Pimp A Butterfly- Kendrick Lamar


2. Ego Death- The Internet


3. Surf- Donnie Trumpet & The Social Experiment


4. 25- Adele


5. Rodeo- Travi$ Scott


6. Summertime '06- Vince Staples


7. Beauty Behind The Madness- The Weeknd


8. You Should Be Here- Kehlani


9. Wildheart- Miguel


10. Tetsuo & Youth- Lupe Fiasco


11. Dark Sky Paradise- Big Sean


12. If You're Reading This It's Too Late- Drake


13. DS2- Future


14. The Album About Nothing- Wale


15. Compton- Dr. Dre


Honorable Mentions:


Unbreakable- Janet Jackson

T R A P S O U L- Bryson Tiller

But You Caint Use My Phone- Erykah Badu

SremmLife- Rae Sremmurd

What A Time To Be Alive- Drake & Future





Kendrick Lamar Interviews N.W.A.

Kendrick Lamar, via Billboard, got the opportunity to conduct a legendary interview. He sat down with the remaining members of N.W.A. (Dr. Dre, Ice Cube, MC Ren, and DJ Yella sans Arabian Prince) and discussed many things, including the influence of their group, the new movie documenting their story, and more. It's an amazing interview and all hip-hop heads need to watch this. Check it out above.


Dr. Dre Is Finally Releasing His Third Studio Album

No, it's not Detox. Detox is dead.

According to Dr. Dre,

I didn’t like it. It wasn’t good. The record, it just wasn’t good … I worked my ass off on it, and I don’t think I did a good enough job.

So, let go of the album we've been waiting over 6 years for and get ready for this new one. Dr. Dre's third and final studio album—Compton: A Soundtrack By Dr. Dre— was inspired by the making of the Straight Outta Compton movie about NWA. Dre was inspired to create an entirely new album and it will be released on August 7th. The album is feature-heavy but I'm sure the Doctor will not disappoint. Check out the tracklist below.

01 “Intro”
02 “Talk About It” (Feat. King Mez & Justus)
03 “Genocide” (Feat. Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius & Candice Pillay)
04 “It’s All On Me” (Feat. Justus & BJ The Chicago Kid)
05 “All In A Day’s Work” (Feat. Anderson Paak & Marsha Ambrosius)
06 “Darkside/Gone” (Feat. King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius & Kendrick Lamar)
07 “Loose Cannons” (Feat. Xzibit & COLD 187um)
08 “Issues” (Feat. Ice Cube & Anderson Paak)
09 “Deep Water” (Feat. Kendrick Lamar & Justus)
10 Jon Connor – “One Shot One Kill” (Feat. Snoop Dogg)
11 The Game – “Just Another Day” (Feat. Asia Bryant)
12 “For The Love Of Money” (Feat. Jill Scott & Jon Connor)
13 “Satisfiction” (Feat. Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius & King Mez)
14 “Animals” (Feat. Anderson Paak)
15 “Medicine Man” (Feat. Eminem, Candice Pillay & Anderson Paak)
16 “Talking To My Diary”


"Compton"- Kendrick Lamar (feat. Dr. Dre) / good kid, m.A.A.d city (Tentative Tracklist)

I’ve got a lot of Kendrick news for you today. Kendrick Lamar has released a new single for his upcoming debut album, good kid, m.A.A.d city. The song is called “Compton” and features Dr. Dre with production by Just Blaze. It’s an ode to their cities and as good as it comes. The vocals toward the end took me right back to the ’90s. Check it out above.

Also, we receive, what seems to be, the tracklist for the album. I’m going to wait for confirmation before I truly believe it since there is no Ab-Soul or ScHoolboy Q. But here’s what we’ve got. Enjoy.

1.  Sherane a.k.a Master Splinter’s Daughter
2.  B*tch, Don’t Kill My Vibe (Feat. Lady Gaga)
3.  Backseat Freestyle
4.  The Art Of Peer Pressure
5.  Money Trees (Feat. Jay Rock)
6.  Poetic Justice (Feat. Drake)
7.  good kid
8.  m.A.A.d city (Feat. MC Eiht)
9.  Swimming Pools (Drank) (Extended Version)
10.  Sing About Me, I’m Dying Of Thirst
11.  Real (Feat. Anna Wise)
12.  Compton (Feat. Dr. Dre)

Deluxe Bonus Tracks:

13.  The Recipe (Feat. Dr. Dre)
14.  Black Boy Fly
15.  Now or Never (Feat. Mary J. Blige)
16.  Collect Calls
17.  Swimming Pools (Drank)


Update: The tracklist has been confirmed through iTunes.

"3 Kings" (Stream)

Rick Ross released the next track from his upcoming album, God Forgives, I Don’t. “3 Kings” features Dr. Dre and Jay-Z rapping over a beat that was just made for a MMG album. Ross and Dr. Dre were mainly unimpressive, but it was Jay-Z’s verse that had the world at their computers instantly discussing if they should tweet #1King or if his verse wasn’t anything special at all. I’ll let you decide. God Forgives, I Don’t drops on July 31st. Enjoy.


Dr. Dre and Snoop Dogg's 2012 Coachella Set

Dr. Dre and Snoop Dogg put on one of the best Coachella performances I’ve ever seen last night. They brought out artists like Eminem, Warren G, 50 Cent, and more. And I know you heard about it, but the highlight of the night was a performing hologram of the legendary Tupac Shakur.

Dr. Dre & Snoop Dogg (Live at Coachella, 2012)… by coachellasets

Dr. Dre & Snoop Dogg (Live at Coachella, 2012)… by coachellasets